OH girls look to bounce back

OH girls look to bounce back

By Yaneek Smith

During the offseason, the Rockets welcomed former Genoa head coach Tom Kontak to the program, a move that created some buzz within the community and gave people reason to be optimistic about the future.

 

Kontak, who used to coach basketball and softball at Genoa High School, had a great career coaching basketball with the Comets. In six seasons, Kontak’s teams had a 91-44 record, won two Suburban Lakes League titles (2006-07; 2007-08), finished second three times and won more games, 61, in the conference during that span than any other team.

Oak Harbor must replace its top performer from last season in Allison Dunn, a second-team SBC selection, who led the team in scoring and was second in rebounding. However, Abbie Gezo, who was second in scoring and led the team in rebounding, returns, as does point guard Makayla Carpenter and wing Maria Boers. Joining them on the team are newcomers Jordyn Dunn and Andrea Cecil, a point guard.

Quite simply, the success of the Rockets’ season may hinge on how well Carpenter and Cecil, a freshman, run the point and whether or not Boers can consistently hit her perimeter shots; that, and how well the incoming junior varsity players can get acclimated to playing at the varsity level.

Oak Harbor Girls Basketball Schedule

Sat. Nov. 3               

Rossford/Northwood - Scrimmage         

Away         

10:00

Sat. Nov. 10

Bowling Green – Scrimmage

Away

10:00

Tues. Nov. 13

Fremont Ross - Scrimmage

Away

6:00

Thurs Nov. 15

Swanton - Scrimmage

Home

6:00

Fri. Nov. 16

Swanton Preview

Away

5:30

Sat. Dec. 1

Port Clinton

Away

1:00

Tues. Dec. 4

Edison

Home

6:00

Sat. Dec. 8

Huron

Away

1:00

Tues. Dec. 11

Bellevue

Away

6:00

Fri. Dec. 14

Clyde

Home

6:00

Sat. Dec. 15

Woodmore

Home

1:00

Tues. Dec. 18

SMCC

Away

6:00

Sat. Dec. 22

Perkins

Home

1:00

Thurs. Dec. 27

St. Joe

Home

6:00

Sat. Dec. 29

Margaretta

Home

1:00

Sat. Jan. 5

Port Clinton

Home

1:00

Tues. Jan. 8

Danbury

Away

6:00

Sat. Jan. 12

Edison

Away

1:00

Sat. Jan. 19

Huron

Home

1:00

Fri. Jan. 25

Clyde

Away

6:00

Tues. Jan. 29

Genoa

Away

6:00

Sat. Feb. 2

Perkins

Away

1:00

Tues. Feb. 5

Tiffin Columbian

Home

6:00

Thurs. Feb. 7

Margaretta

Away

6:00

Sat. Feb. 9

Eastwood

Home

6:00

Tues. Feb. 12

Lakota

Away

6:00

Thurs. Feb. 14

SMCC (SPN)

Home

6:00

Rate this item
(0 votes)