Ottawa County Candidates for Nov. 5 Election Featured

Ottawa County has many contested races in the Nov. 5 election. The Beacon asked the candidates that we were able to contact and that responded to our request to submit the reasons they would be the best officeholder.


Port Clinton Auditor

Port Clinton City Council Ward 1

Also running: Ron Aukerman

Port Clinton City Council Ward 2

Port Clinton City Council Ward 3

Bay Twp Trustee (vote for 2)

Also running: Denton Glovinsky, Mark Howerth, Benny Peterson

Benton Twp Trustee (vote for 2)

Also running: James Buhro, Edward Dusseau, Kenneth Leist

Danbury Twp Trustee (vote for 2)

Also running: Dave Hirt

Harris Twp Trustee (vote for 2)

Also running: Carol Baker, Steve Holland

Woodmore School Board (vote for 2)

Carroll Twp Trustee (vote for 2)

Richard Keiser, Joseph Verb, Kenneth Gyde, Rodney Biggert Sr., Allen Weirich, Phillip James DeLuca

Clay Twp Trustee (vote for 2)

Mitchell Hoyles, Donald Hoeft, Gaylord Sheldon, Matthew Widmer

Put-In-Bay Trustee (vote for 2)

William Dale Burris, Matthew Miller, Christopher Copper, Scott Pugh

Put-In-Bay School Board (vote for 3)

Michael Byrnes, Joy Cooper, Karen Goaziou, Dennis Uszak

Other Candidates

Tresurer: Edna Hansen

Port Clinton Ward 4A: Gabe Below

Municipal Judge: Frederick Hany II

Clay Center Council: Mark Franks, Steve Hochanadel

Elmore Council: (vote for 4) Richard Claar, Matthew Danschroder, William Kieffer, Thomas Charles Deitemyer

Elmore Affairs: Alvin Lee Roepke

Genoa Council: (vote for 4) Kenneth Lee Harsanje Sr., David Brown, Raymond St. Marie, John Lewis

Marblehead Council: (vote for 4) John Starcher, Dean Dorko, David Redett

Marblehead Board of Public Affairs: E. Lynn App

Oak Harbor Council: (vote for 4) Jacqueline Macko, Susan Rahm, Bradley Weis

Oak Harbor Mayor: William Eberle

Put-In-Bay Council: (vote for 4) Jeffry William Koehler, Lee Krendl, Terry Bodenbender, Jacob Douglas Market

Rocky Ridge Council: (vote for 4) Brenda Sue Fastinger, Rita Buehler, Emil Lee Bloomfield

Allen Twp Trustee: (vote for 2) Craig Blausey, Scott Everhardt

Catawba Island Twp Trustee: (vote for 2) Matthew Montowski, William Rofkar

Erie Twp Trustee: (vote for 2) Frederick Bice, Dale Thomas Collins

Portage Twp Trustee: (vote for 2) Sam Conte, Keith Heileman

Salem Twp Trustee: (vote for 2) Victor Harder, Ronald Buehler

BCS School Board: (vote for 3) Jeffery Dornbusch, Jamie Lynn Tooman, Kimberly Dusseau

Danbury School Board: (vote for 3) John Kosa, Reba Bishoff

Genoa School Board: (vote for 3) Christopher Goetz, Kimberly Traver, James Brossia

North Bass School Board: (vote for 3) Mary Stonerook, Dale Stonerook, James Yelensky

Port Clinton School Board: (vote for 3) Barbara Drusbacky, Michele Mueller, Paul Edward Shaw

North Point Educational Service Center: (vote for 2) Paul Lockwood II, Randall Macko

Wood County Educational Service Center: (vote for 3) Kenneth Ault, Timothy Meyer, Judith Paredes

Lake Local School District: (vote for 3) Brad Delventhal, Tim Krugh, Monica Leppelmeier


Village of Elmore, renewal, 3 mills for maintenance and repair of streets/alleys

Village of Elmore, renewal, 3 mills for solid waste collection

Village of Elmore, renewal, .75 mills for operating recreation facilities and parks

Danbury Twp, additional, 1.5 mills for fire protection

Harris Twp, additional, 4.5 mills for emergency medical services

Harris Twp 4, new, local liquor option- Schedel Gardens D-6 liquor permit

Portage Twp 2, new, local liquor op¬teration- Ciao Bella D-6 liquor permit

Put-In-Bay Twp, renewal, 1.2 mills for fire protection

BCS School District, renewal, 1.2 mills for general ongoing permanent improve¬ments

BCS Schoot District, renewal, 3.9 mills for current operating expenses

Port Clinton School District, renewal, 2.3 mills for current expenses

City of Port Clinton, new, natural gas aggregation with opt out

Woodmore School District, renewal, 5.75 mills, emergency requirements

EHOVE Vocational School District, replacement, .5 mill for current expenses

Related items

back to top