All county levies win; Ohio Issues 1, 2 cruise

Nov 14, 2023 | Featured, Around Ottawa County | 0 comments

By D’Arcy Patrick Egan

If there was a surprise following Election Day on Tuesday, Nov. 7, it might have been an early lack of drama in Ottawa County and the ease of passage for controversial Ohio statewide issues.

State Issue 1 on allowing access to abortion and State Issue 2 on permitting recreational marijuana sales were never in doubt. The vote in the major cities around Ohio made sure of that, with overwhelming approval. The unofficial count had Issue 1 a 53-47 winner, with Issue 2 garnering a strong 54-46 victory.

In Ottawa County, Issue 1 was approved 53-47. Issue 2 got the nod, 54-46, according to unofficial counts.

Ottawa County voters kept a close eye on the 15 levies on various ballots around county, especially the replacement levy for the Ida Rupp Public Library in Port Clinton. Opponents wanted to make a point about library books available to children, and the challenge failed, 63-36.

“I am grateful for all of our community members who continue to invest in the Ida Rupp Library and support the important services offered by the library. We look forward to continuing our mission to facilitate free access to materials and services to support the diverse educational, informational, and entertainment needs of our community,” said Director Lindsay Faust

“I also would like to extend my greatest thanks to the members of the Citizens for Ida Rupp Public Library for their hard work and efforts to campaign on behalf of the Library, as well as our Friends of the Library groups for their support.”

Among the 15 proposed county tax levies, all were approved.

That included the Riverview Nursing Home levy, three Benton-Carroll-Salem School District levies; an Oak Harbor Library levy, and fire levies in Harris, Portage and Put-in-Bay townships.

Politics in Port Clinton, the only city in the county, was a moot point. Mayor Mike Snider, a Republican among a council filled with Democrats, was unopposed. So were President of Council Lisa Sarty, Auditor Gabe Below, Law Director Dina Shenker and council members Pat Hovis and Jerry Tarolli.

In the villages, mayors who were unopposed included Clay Center’s Melvin Sprauer; Elmore’s Thomas Jackson; Oak Harbor’s Quinton Babcock; and Put-in-Bay’s Judith Berry. In Marblehead, John Starcher won with 57%; and Genoa’s Jacob Siebert won with 61%.

In township races around eastern Ottawa County, Diane Belden (53%) won in Catawba Island Township and Dianne Rozak was unopposed in Danbury Township.

Related Post 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


May 2024

Share This