B-C-S Board honors Middle School winners of Spelling Bee

Mar 7, 2019 | Schools | 0 comments

The Benton-Carroll-Salem Board of Education recently honored  Oak Harbor Middle School Spelling Bee Winners at its monthly board meeting. Oak Harbor Middle School Principal Laramie Spurlock recognized teacher Amy Sandrock for her many years of dedication organizing the school’s spelling bee before introducing Spelling Bee winners Phoebe Lenke, Nathan Warnke and Kalyssa Dehring.

The Board also approved a new a two-year administrative contract for Dan Hoover as Director of Athletics, effective with the start of the 2019-2020 school year. Starting with the 2019-2020 school year, Hoover will serve as Director of Athletics only.

He had resigned for retirement purposes as a teacher and athletic trainer (effective at the end of this school year) after 32 years of service to B-C-S Schools. “It has been my privilege to be a teacher and athletic trainer for thousands of wonderful students,” said Hoover.

“I look forward to having the leadership, wisdom, and dedication of Dan Hoover around for many years as our AD. I am proud of the direction he is setting for our programs and student-athletes,” said Supt. Guy Parmigian.

The Board approved a revision to the 2019-2020 Oak Harbor High School Curriculum Handbook to include the new course Current Issues in Social Studies. This class will be offered to students in Grade 12 and will help students to earn a Social Studies Honors Diploma.

Also approved were an agreement with the Village of Oak Harbor for Police Security and Crossing Guard duties; a College Credit Agreement with Terra State Community College for the 2019-2020 school year; and  the District Calendar for the 2019-2020 school year, which is now available on the District Website at bcssd.com.

The next regular meeting of the B-C-S Board of Education is Tuesday, March 12, at 6 p.m. the Board of Education Office.

B-C-S Spelling Bee winners

At the Benton-Carroll-Salem Board of Education awards ceremony recently for Oak Harbor Middle School Spelling Bee winners were, left to right, Principal Laramie Spurlock, teacher Amy Sandrock, first-place Phoebe Lenke, second-place Nathan Warnke, third-place Kalyssa Dehring and Superintendent Guy Parmigian.

Related Post 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


July 2024

Share This