Celebrating 30 years of ‘Making Brighter Futures,’ Genoa Foundation announces 74 scholarships for 2021

May 26, 2021 | Schools | 0 comments

The Genoa Area Local Schools Scholarship Foundation announced it has awarded $43,000 in scholarships for 2021 at the high school’s 2021 Scholarship Foundation Awards Program last week ranging to as much as $4,000.

The Foundation was created 30 years ago to offer scholarships to students graduating from the Genoa Area Local Schools and has changed from being Genoa’s best kept secret to “Making Brighter Futures” with more than $1.2 million in assets to assist students in furthering their education.

On Jan. 7, 1991, a group of local residents founded the Genoa Area Education Foundation. In November 2002 the name of the foundation was changed to the Genoa Area Local Schools Scholarship Foundation and continued to be a major source of support to graduating seniors from Genoa Area Local Schools.

The community foundation is run entirely by volunteers. Its growth is due to being a community program funded by caring, helpful and thoughtful individuals, along with local businesses and community clubs that support Genoa Schools.

There are currently 44 individual scholarship funds that offered 59 scholarships in 2021. In addition, 15 scholarships were given by various individuals, businesses and organizations in conjunction with the Foundation.

2021 Genoa Foundation Scholarships for 2021

Allen-Clay Joint Fire District Firefighter Associations Scholarship: Emily Dunlap, Veronica Lopez

Helen Asmus Memorial Scholarship: Connor Brazelton; Sara Dembowski; Haley Hecklinger; Abigail Lesniewicz; Sara Partin.

Stella Bertz Scholarship: Veronica Lopez.

Doris Brossia Memorial Scholarship; Darin Muir.

Clay-Genoa High School Reunion Scholarship: AJ Rubeis.

Curtice Kidz/Allen Township Scholarship: Regan Nye.

Dehn Sisters Memorial Scholarship: Samantha Richards.

Envirosafe Scholarship: Ross Schlatter.

Timothy J. Fisher/Briana Bertok-Schack Memorial Science Scholarship: Fischer Bertok.

Foundation Scholarship Fund: Blaine Maluchnik; Timmy Mathews.

Bruce and Alyssa Gackstetter Memorial Scholarship: Kayla Knight.

Genoa Area Federation of Clubs – Tomme Bergman Memorial Scholarship: Drake Hamilton.

Genoa Area FFA Alumni Scholarship; Cole Nissen.

Genoa Area Music Boosters Scholarship: Samantha Richards.

Genoa Athletic Boosters Scholarship: Caitlin Cruickshank; Thomas Giles.

Genoa Elementary Parent Teachers Organization (PTO) Scholarship: Taylor Simmons

Genoa Golf Scholarship: Liam Mazur.

Genoa Grange Scholarship: Olivia Wiciak.

Genoa Kiwanis Scholarship: Nathaniel Heinze; Regan Nye; Josephine Schwalbe.

Genoa National Honor Society Scholarship: Emma Gould.

Genoa Wrestling Scholarship: Thomas Giles.

Margaret “Peggy” Hebert Memorial Scholarship: Abigail Hines; Cecilia Lemons.

Lester M. Henningsen Scholarship: Jonah Goodrich.

Roger & M.C. Hesselbart Memorial Scholarship: Emily Dunlap.

Andrew Hirt Memorial Scholarship: Andrew Antry.

Jennifer L. Johnson Memorial Scholarship: AJ Rubeis.

Ryan Kimball Memorial Scholarship: Jacob Emerson.

“Papa Joe” McLear Memorial Scholarship: Samara Contos.

David K. Miller Memorial Scholarship: Ross Schlatter.

Edith C. Niehousmyer Scholarship: Samantha DeVerna.

Helen L. Niehousmyer Scholarship: Olivia DeVerna.

Irma Nolte Memorial Scholarship: Makenna Flores.

Curt Reinbolt Memorial Scholarship: Madelyn Coleman; Halanna Kwiatkowski.

Carol Scharer Scholarship; Tyson Lesher; Derek Rightnowar.

John F. Schultz Memorial Scholarship: Caitlin Cruickshank.

The Sheahan Family Scholarship: Emily Dunlap; Thomas Giles.

Siglar-Shessler Memorial Scholarship: Audrey Lind.

George Stuller Memorial Scholarship: Samara Contos; Darin Muir.

Marcia Tank Education Scholarship: Caitlin Cruickshank.

Marcia Tank Science/Engineering Scholarship: Brad Hanely.

Debra Sue Vine Memorial Scholarship: Veronica Lopez.

Wagner/Sondergeld Memorial Scholarship: Candace Lawson; Laney Reineck

James Walton Scholarship: Kayla Knight.

Frances M Weirich Memorial Scholarship: Makenna Flores

Additional Local Scholarships

Charles W. and Donna E. Foss Scholarship: Zack Buhrow; Liam Mazur; Josephine Schwalbe; Taylor Simmons.

Genoa Area Education Association (GAEA) – Dave Miller Honorarium; Samantha RichardsTyson Lesher

GenoaBank: Cole Nissen; Olivia Wiciak.

Genoa Coterie Club: Angeleena Saint John.

Genoa Chamber of Commerce: Cole Leach: Regan Nye.

Jennifer K. Martin Scholarship of the Ottawa County Foundation: Brad Hanely; Mack Jensen.

Ohio Association of Public School Employees (OAPSE): AJ Rubeis.

Premier Bank: Makenna Flores.

Related Post 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


July 2024

Share This