Kiwanis Club honors Officer and Deputy of the Year

May 21, 2024 | Featured, Around Ottawa County | 1 comment

Deputy Phil Langhals was named Deputy of the Year, and Officer Curt Cochran was named Officer of the Year at the Kiwanis Law Enforcement Day Luncheon. Shown here are, from left. Ottawa County Sheriff Stephen Levorchick, Langhals, Cochran and Port Clinton Chief of Police David Scott. (Submitted photo)


Each year, the Kiwanis Club of Port Clinton recognizes two local heroes. On May 15, Police Officer Curt Cochran was named Port Clinton Officer of the Year and Deputy Phil Langhals was named Ottawa County Sheriff’s Deputy of the Year at the Law Enforcement Day luncheon at Ala Carte After Hours. The award recipients were chosen by their peers.

“Every year, Kiwanis does this for us. It’s great,” said Port Clinton Chief of Police David Scott. “A couple of months before, I give every employee in the department a ballot.”

Cochran serves as the School Resource Officer (SRO) at Port Clinton Middle School. Serving alongside him is Lucy, a therapy dog.

“He came to me and said he wanted to get a therapy dog,” Scott said. “He uses her at the school, in the community, and with NAMI.”

Officer Curt Cochran receives the Officer of the Year award. (Submitted photo)

Scott said that Cochran serves as a volunteer on a crisis management team through NAMI, the National Alliance on Mental Illness.

“If there are critical incidents in the community, the team responds. He came to me and said he

wanted to volunteer to be a part of that,” Scott said.

Cochran’s engagement in the community impacts many people. In addition to working with Lucy and NAMI, he also serves as a volunteer coach.

“He’s just a great guy. He does a lot for the community,” Scott said.

Mary’s Blossom Shop provided flowers for the occasion.

Related Post 

1 Comment

  1. Scott Gresser

    A great tradition continues. Congratulations to the Officers and thanks for your Service.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


June 2024

Share This