Ohio fishing licenses available in March

Mar 4, 2020 | Ottawa Outdoors | 6 comments

The Ohio Division of Wildlife is reminding all those who enjoy hunting and fishing to check the expiration date on their licenses before heading on the water or into the field this year.

March 1 is the traditional start of Ohio’s fishing and hunting license year. However, new license options give those who enjoy the outdoors more choices than ever before. If your hunting or fishing license has expired, you can purchase a new one online at wildohio.gov and at hundreds of participating agents throughout the state.

“The Division of Wildlife maintains successful wildlife and habitat management thanks to the continued support of Ohio’s sportsmen and women,” said Division of Wildlife Chief Kendra Wecker. “Thank you to everyone who has purchased or plans to purchase a license or permit to go fishing or hunting this year. Time outdoors is time well spent, and we look forward to providing first-class service to Ohio’s conservationists.”

Ohio’s annual resident hunting licenses for the 2020-2021 seasons are $19 and available beginning March 1. Hunting licenses are valid immediately after purchase through Feb. 28, 2021. Ohio’s resident fishing licenses are $25 and are valid for one year from the date of purchase. An Ohio fishing license can be purchased up to 30 days prior to its expiration date.

After an online purchase, including by smartphone, anyone with an online account can obtain a free reprint of a license or permit (this option is not available at agents). Customers now have the option of choosing automatic license renewal when purchasing online. The selected license will renew automatically and ensure the license buyer always has a valid license.

Related Post 


  1. Terry geer

    I am 77 years old do. I need fishing and hunting liscense

  2. Robert

    How much for a non resident senior citizen fishing license?

    • Carol

      Under current law, Ohio residents who are at least 66 years old and born on or after January 1, 1938 pay one-half the regular price for hunting and fishing licenses and permits. Ohio residents who are at least 66 years old and born on or before December 31, 1937, are issued these licenses and permits free of charge.Mar 15, 2013

  3. Patti

    How much does it cost for a 12 yr old?

  4. Chuck

    I am 68 years old and an Ohio resident,how much is the cost for me for a fishing license for the year 2020

  5. Becky Blevins

    Do I need a license to take my grandkids fishing if I’m not fishing myself?


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


May 2024

Share This