Port Clinton High School holds Virtual Scholarship Night

Jun 10, 2020 | Schools | 0 comments

The annual Port Clinton High School Rotary Honor Banquet was cancelled this year, but Port Clinton Rotary and several other community organizations have participated to create a Virtual Scholarship Night for the Class of 2020.

Guidance Counselor Heidi Steyer worked with the scholarship sponsors to submit a video that Digital Media Teacher Carla Pelz edited to create the presentation. The video has been aired on WPCR, portclintonradio.com, the Port Clinton Video Production YouTube Channel and the Port Clinton City School District Facebook page.

While in a different format, the Port Clinton community still came together to recognize Port Clinton seniors for their academic achievements and  were awarded scholarships.

Through the generosity of several community groups and established individual funds, the community presented students with the following scholarships:

  • Business & Professional  Women’s Club of PC – Hannah Witte; Port Clinton Music Boosters – Elyse Pannel, Kaylee Phillips, Bobbijo Whiteside; Keith Montgomery Music Performance Scholarship – Dylan Smothers; Rotary Club Judge Donald and Faith Wargowsky – Hannah Moore, Sierra Robinette;
  • Elks Leadership & Scholarship Award – Zayne Manning; Port Clinton Lions Club Scholarship – Michaela Ferrell; Ann Bolte Achievement Scholarship Fund – Mattison Koskela, Caitlin Chafee; Rotary Club Scholarship – Zayne Manning, Hannah Moore, Cara Linn, Marie Gluth; Ottawa County Realtors Charitable Trust Scholarship – Cooper Stine; Robert Rigoni Memorial Scholarship FOP – Cooper Kowal; Catawba Island Volunteer Fire Department  Ladies Auxiliary  Scholarship – Brook Gibbons;
  • Alfred Duff Scholarship – Zayne Manning, Hannah Moore, Michaela Ferrell, Lissa Gillman, Omar Lucero, Mattison Koskela, Cooper Kowal, Justin Martin; K.J. Schweitzer Continuing Education Scholarship – Bobbijo Whiteside; Peggy Bredbeck PCFT Scholarship – Cara Linn; Thomas W. Maher Scholarship – Bobbijo Whiteside, Kaylee Phillips; Mildred C. Roy Scholarship – Sierra Robinette, Nicho Rojas; Richmond Scholarship Foundation – Ethan Schaffer; PC Chamber of Commerce Foundation Scholarship – Lissa Gillman; PC Chamber of Commerce Scholarship – Hannah Witte; Red Cross Blood Drive Scholarship – Sarah Kopp;
  • Kiwanis Foundation of PC Service Scholarship – Hannah Moore, Kaylee Phillips, Grace Heilmann, Cooper Kowal; Port Clinton Women’s Club  Scholarship – Marie Gluth, Michaela Ferrel; The Ohio State University Alumni Scholarship – Avery Hines; Literary and Social Club Scholarship – Elena Kessler; PEO Sisterhood Book Scholarship – Lissa Gillman; Priscilla Rhiel Visual Arts Scholarship -Tyler Webb; George & Lois Svehla Scholarship Literary Social Club – Benjamin Gilliland;
  • The Jonathan T. Pope Memorial Scholarship Fund – Mason Elson, Allison Dickman;
  • Order of the Eastern Star Scholarship- Michaela Ferrell; The Earl E. Warnke Scholarship – Kaylee Phillips, Dylan Smothers; Robert A. Krupp USG Memorial Scholarship – Marie Gluth; Thomas Bodager Memorial Scholarship – Cooper Stine; PC Academic Boosters Scholarship – Cooper Stine, Grace Heilmann, Hannah Moore, Andy Koehl, Cooper Kowal; Mayor John Blatt Scholarship – Andrew Ferguson; Magruder Hospital Scholarships:
  • Nursing –  Allison Dickman, Michaela Ferrell, Grace Heilmann, Aliyah  Phillabaum, Sarah Kopp ; Health Careers – Brooke Gibbons, Hannah Moore, Hannah Witte, Sierra Robinette, Elena Kessler;  R.W. Minnick Scholarship Magruder Hospital – Kaylee Phillips; Kent Johnson Family/Grandma Theo – Dylan Smothers; PC Key Club – Mattison Koskela;
  • Steve G. Benko Family Memorial Scholarship – Cooper Kowal;
  • Nate Buckhantz Hospitality & Management Scholarship – Zayne Manning; Lenore Petersen Blackburn Scholarship – Zoe Hines, Logan Faulkner, Alana Read, Connor Gillum; Jessie Schenk Memorial Scholarship – Omar Lucero, Sierra Robinette, Samantha Sneider, Grace Heilmann;
  • Oliver H. Perry Scholarship – Hannah Moore; Laurie Mann Memorial Scholarship – Cooper Stine; Knights of Columbus – Sierra Robinette, Zachary Weldon; Fraternal Order of Eagles #2295 Redskins Bowling Scholarship Fund – Dylan Smothers; Angie Wright Memorial Scholarship – Emily Feuhrer; PC Athletic Booster Academic Scholarship – Cooper Stine, Grace Heilmann;
  • Lester J. Klenk Memorial Scholarship – Alissa Fargo; Jacob Hefflinger Scholarship – Hailey Ranzenberger; Walleye Festival Scholarship – Marie Gluth; Genoa Bank Scholarship – Cooper Stine; Susan Parker Memorial Scholarship – Nicho Rojas; Joan M. Hudak Teacher Education Scholarship – Cara Linn; Peter B. Rutan and Jean C. Rutan Scholarship Fund – Hannah Moore, Jaxon Martinez, Michael Baxter, Caitlin Chafee, Zayne Manning, Elena Kessler, Cooper Stine,  Mattison Koskela, Marie Gluth, Cooper Kowal, Samantha Sneider, Addison Martinez, Grace Heilmann, Kaylee Phillips, Bobbijo Whiteside, Hannah Witte ,Michaela Ferrell, Omar  Lucero, Tyler Webb, Hailey Ranazenberger, Aliyah Phillabaum, Andy Koehl, Sarah Kopp, Benjamin Gilliland, Noah Chance;
  • Jean C. Rutan Port Clinton High School Scholarship Fund – Andy Koehl, Hailey Ranzenberger; James W. Longe Scholarship – Grace Heilmann, Kaylee Phillips; Julia Quayle Education Fund – Lissa Gillman; Terry Heise Scholarship -Jaxon Martinez, Elena Kessler.

Prior to the awarding of scholarships, Edward Gabel, PCHS Class of 1982, was introduced as the 2020 inductee to the Port Clinton High School Alumni Hall of Fame.  His formal induction will take place next May at the Rotary Scholarship Banquet.

The Alumni Hall of Fame inductees information and nomination forms can be found online at www.pccsd.net  under the Alumni tab along with a link to watch the complete 2020 PCHS Scholarship Awards Video under the news section.

Related Post 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


May 2024

Share This