The Port Clinton Lighthouse and the Lightkeeper’s Boathouse will wrap up the season with tours on Saturday, Oct. 12 from noon to 5 p.m., reports Richard Norgard of the Port Clinton Lighthouse Conservancy.
The restored lighthouse is Port Clinton’s second, built in 1896 and placed at the entrance of the Portage River where it remained active for 56 years. The light was decommissioned in 1952, when it was moved by order of the U.S. Coast Guard. For more than 60 years, the lighthouse stood quietly on private property alongside the bank of the Portage River.
Restoration of the lighthouse began in 2013 by the Port Clinton Lighthouse Conservancy. On Aug. 18, 2016, the lighthouse was moved to its permanent location at Water Works Park. Lighthouse lovers everywhere now have a rare opportunity to roam the interior of this unique structure while knowledgeable docents explain the importance of the pier light to local navigation and the important duties performed by the lighthouse keepers of yesteryear.
Tours are $3, with kids 10 free.