Sen. Gavarone named vice chair of JCARR

Jan 27, 2021 | Around Ottawa County | 0 comments

Senate President Matt Huffman (R-Lima) has appointed State Senator Theresa Gavarone (R-Bowling Green), whose district includes Ottawa County, as Vice Chair of the Joint Committee on Agency Rule Review (JCARR).

A member of the Ohio House serves as Chairman in odd-numbered years and a member of the Ohio Senate serves as Chairman in even-numbered years. Gavarone served as Chair of JCARR in 2020 and will again in 2022.

“Strengthening efficiency and transparency is crucial for the State’s rule making process,” said Gavarone. “I look forward to ensuring that rules are filed in a timely and fair manner and are within proper statutory authority.”

Considered one of the most important committees in Ohio government, JCARR reviews proposed new, amended, and rescinded rules from over 100 agencies to ensure they do not exceed the rule-making authority granted to them by the General Assembly. The committee was created in 1977 and seats five State Representatives and five State Senators. In addition, Gavarone was appointed to serve on the Ohio Ballot Board. The Ballot Board is charged with prescribing and certifying the ballot language for proposed Constitutional amendments, initiatives, and referenda and oversees efforts to inform voters of proposed ballot issues.

Related Post 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


June 2024

Share This