Tops in Spelling Bee at Port Clinton Schools advance to County Bee on Feb. 4

Jan 29, 2020 | Schools | 0 comments

Image of Spelling Bee winners Bryce James, Sarah Borton, and Carson Miller

The Port Clinton Middle School Spelling Bee winners were Carson Miller (third), Bryce James (first), and Sarah Borton (second).

The top spellers at Bataan Memorial Intermediate Elementary School and Port Clinton Middle School participated in the annual Spelling Bee last week. The students participating in the live competition had achieved the top scores on a written test and the top three move on to compete in the Ottawa County Spelling Bee.

The Port Clinton Women’s Club sponsors the school-wide spelling bees and assists the North Point Educational Service Center with the Ottawa County Spelling Bee. The Ottawa County Spelling Bee will be held on Feb. 4 at 6:30 p.m. in the PCHS Performing Arts Center. The top three from the Ottawa County Bee will advance to the Regional Spelling Bee.

The Bataan Memorial Intermediate School Spelling Bee winners were, left to right, Liam Coppeler (third), Trevor James (first), and Gabe Depner (second).

The Bataan Memorial Intermediate School Spelling Bee winners were, left to right, Liam Coppeler (third), Trevor James (first), and Gabe Depner (second).

Bataan Memorial Intermediate School’s top three spellers were, in order of placement, Trevor James, Gabe Depner, and Liam Coppeler. Bataan Intermediate Spelling Bee participants also included: Shadon Pollard, Analya Parriott, Isaiah Cross, Liam Johnson, Payton Meade, Ryan Kuehling, Brody Bollinger, Danny Baker, Gavin Covey, Mailey Mowel, Dalton Bergman, Bella Belden, Avery Martinez, Jasmyne Silverwood, Tristan Minney, Baylee Neff, Cooper Harpster, Charlie Simpson, Jayden Urbanski, Chase Lawson.

Port Clinton Middle School’s top three in its competition were led by 2019 Ottawa County Champion Bryce James. Second and third were Sarah Borton and Carson Miller. PCMS Spelling Bee participants included: Ginger Blackert, Rylie Case, Lillie Fox, Alex Hill, Brayden Hurst, Hunter Wadsworth, Corrine Baker, Amberley Benson, Aidan Burton, Joey Hilton, Makayla Salyers, Olivia Spencer, Damien Brooks, Abigail Cuevas, and Nathan Webster.

See more at or links on the school district Facebook page.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Market Place

Starcher Village ProPeninsula Boat Sales marketplace 0219

Current Weather

First National Bank AdOhler & Holzhauer Ad Oct 2019 - Dec 2019Lake Erie Shores & Island


April 2020
Share This