USDA designates Ottawa County as Primary Natural Disaster Area

Sep 4, 2019 | Around Ottawa County | 0 comments

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) designated Ottawa County as primary natural disaster area. Producers who suffered losses may be eligible for USDA Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.

The natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in Ottawa, Erie, Huron, Sandusky, and Van Wert counties who suffered losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred between April 1 and July 3, 2019, are eligible to apply for emergency loans.

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is April 2, 2020. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at

Related Post 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


May 2024

Share This