USDA disaster declaration helps rain-soaked Ottawa County farms

Jul 31, 2019 | Around Ottawa County | 0 comments

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) issued a disaster declaration after excessive rainfall left farms across Ohio and the Midwest unable to plant their crops on time, or at all. The USDA’s announcement included Paulding, Wood and Wyandot counties as primary counties, and Ottawa, Defiance, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Ottawa, Putnam, and Van Wert counties as contiguous counties.

The disaster declaration will allow for additional relief for impacted farmers including emergency low interest loans, deferred loan payments, and supplementary assistance. Farmers and producers can visit their local Farm Services Agency office to learn more about the disaster programs offered.

“Our farmers have been hit hard by this devastating crop season. Excessive rainfall has led to late or no planting, and it has had a ripple effect across all of agribusiness in the region,” said Congressman Bob Latta of Bowling Green. “It’s the worst I’ve seen. I’m grateful for responsiveness and action on behalf of our farmers, and pleased those impacted will soon see some relief.”

Related Post 


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


May 2024

Share This